cPanel & WHM Version 98 has been released, and brings a slew of great updates. Take a look at what is included, and then upgrade today!
This object is in archive! 

Disable "Delete account and files" button if FTP account is jailed to either /home/user or /home/user/public_html

Nicole Richardson shared this idea 7 years ago
Completed

Working in high volume hosting, I've seen this happen on many occasions where the client clicks the button without realizing and nukes their whole account.

Best Answer
photo

This has always been a particular feature that I was curious about in terms of value to customers. The risk of irreversible deletion (unless you have backups) versus the slight inconvenience of having to manually delete content if that's what you actually wanted.


I'd almost contest that the "Delete account and files" option be removed or at worst be able to be toggled off (regardless of what path it is set to).


Therefore, I'd be very interested to hear some feedback on this and whether customers have found value in the "Delete account and files" option, or if most customers do not use it and would rather it be removed as a feature due to its potential risk of unintended damage to customer data.

Replies (10)

photo
1

Unnecessary IMHO. If you don't know better than to click a button that clearly says DELETE FILES you ought not be an admin. Also, you ought to have off site back ups of all critical files anyway.

photo
1

This has always been a particular feature that I was curious about in terms of value to customers. The risk of irreversible deletion (unless you have backups) versus the slight inconvenience of having to manually delete content if that's what you actually wanted.


I'd almost contest that the "Delete account and files" option be removed or at worst be able to be toggled off (regardless of what path it is set to).


Therefore, I'd be very interested to hear some feedback on this and whether customers have found value in the "Delete account and files" option, or if most customers do not use it and would rather it be removed as a feature due to its potential risk of unintended damage to customer data.

photo
3

I would defently like the "delete the account files" option disabled.


Lots of users tick all boxes with reading, it's too easy to delete files.


While creating the folders if they don't exist is good, no deletion should be done without a big warning like "Warning : if you continue all files will be deleted". In this case, files simply shouldn't be deleted.

photo
2

I work for a webhosting company which provides backup services for our customers. I would say roughly 40% of our restores are caused by this particular problem, as customers often don't look before they click (not to mention the language barrier with some of our International clients). I suggested the path check as an alternative because I was not sure how many actually did utilize the function, however the suggestion to remove it outright would be preferred as it will reduce the number of problems for customers (and us if our backup is not good enough/does not exist.)

photo
1

Customers accidentally deleting data when removing FTP accounts is too common of an issue, disabling the "delete account and files" option would help a lot.

photo
1

In Paper Lantern we require the user to check a box in order to delete the directory, when deleting the FTP account. Please see attached image.

photo
1

In Paper Lantern we changed the behavior to require an additional click in order to remove the files. Please refer to the attached screen shot.

photo
1

I think Paper Lantern behaviour is perfect... but would still like to request the option to be disabled. It just kills everything if the user had access in public_html directory.

photo
1

+1 More warnings are essential. Clicking a box is not enough, there is no dialog stating "hey you are about to delete XYZ, you probably don't wanna do this unless its no longer needed". Many OP's who use cPanel are not sys admins, ya know?


Then in huge fat <h1> if path string matches one of the common or default folders in CP servs:


"Im pretty sure you really dont wanna delete XYZ (public_html). Type 'nuke it all' and then shoot your foot to continue"


Ya know?

photo
1

With the deprecation and removal of support x3, and the fact that this is resolved in Paper Lantern, I'm going to go ahead and mark this one as completed. If you have any other feedback on this request, please feel free to reach out to me.

Replies have been locked on this page!