Manage backups of terminated accounts

Nathan Lierbo shared this idea 4 years ago
Open Discussion

As a webhosting provider and server administrator I would like to be able to manage the account backups that are retained on my server, even after an account is terminated.

I would like an interface in WHM that shows all the backups for accounts that no longer exist. Here, you can choose to either delete these backups or permanently archive them. Choosing to archive the backups will put the backups in an archive directory.

There will also be an option to automatically remove backups of accounts that have been terminated after x days, and you will be able to set the number of days. This setting would disregard backups in the archive directory.

Best Answer
photo

As it stands right now, backups are not removed from the system on account termination, however the way that backups are stored in the new system (by date, rather than by backup type) means that they won't be retained longer than your configured backup retention schedule. The best way to achieve this prior to our implementation of this request is by using the Standardized Hook system.

Comments (20)

photo
1

I also agree with this idea. It's impossible to delete old backups without writing a script to generate a report of backups that exist and don't match an active account.

It would be very useful to archive certain backups and delete the rest after XX days have passed.

+1 from me!

photo
1

is this still being considered?

the new cpanel backup does not keep backups of deleted accounts. if you terminate the account the backup will "disappear" after it no longer being in the set period (because the ne backups are now in date base directories which just get erased)

terminated account's backups should be archived and not deleted

photo
1

it is a major problem with the new backup system that it erases any and all backups of terminated accounts.

i prefer the old system that kept the account backups even though it cost some disk space.

i'd rather have some disk space used than NOT HAVE a backup when the customer comes back after a few months. it means it is a lost customer.

photo
1

That's appreciated...

What do you think cPanel? When can we get it?

photo
1

What one minute.... What if you accidentally terminate an account? Then the system removes the backup, so intimidate recovery is impossible? As in, I guess you would be SOL? cPanel, please say it ain't so!

photo
1

Well, the backup script should simply follow the retention settings, and not leave backups indefinetely in the system.

photo
1

new backup system after last update is nice, but we are waiting again how remove the accounts deleted from X days....

photo
2

Would definitely like this ability, since the purpose of backups is to recover from mistakes or to get someone back after they've been terminated (happens occasionally). I'd much rather go back to leaving all backups in place with the legacy system than to have it immediately purge these.

Please consider adding this in, that terminated accounts get archived, even if I need to manually purge them after the fact. If programmatically removing them later, it would be best to allow for xx number of days, or never/manual.

photo
1

I'm pretty sure that backups of terminated accounts are already removed (if you setup retention rules in the WHM backup config) just like normal accounts. I know you can also set up lifecycle rules in Amazon S3.

I do like the idea of archiving backups. Currently I just download backups that I may need after the regular retention rules would delete them. Archiving them (either locally or offsite such as S3) would be very useful!

photo
1

very usefull feature . we have do this with third party plugin, but with the new backup system that plugin isnot workng anymore . so we ned a option to delete backup for terminated account after XX days .

photo
1

this would require setting a different backup location for terminated backups?

currently the backups are stored in a date-named folder which means any and all backups not in curren backup are lost after rotation.

would this feature archive all existing backups into a different permanent location when terminating an account?

photo
1

Backups should never be automatically deleted, if you want this behavior it would be best to set up a simple cron script.

photo
1

This feature would be very welcome. In small hosting there is a lot of turnover and a tool to remove backups of terminated accounts from other drives (such as secondary drives mounted as /backup) would be very useful and more efficient than having to remove them manually.

photo
2

Yeah that link only works with the legacy back up system. There still nothing for the new system. We just have to hope more people will vote this up.

As a minimum if we just had a "purge backups for accounts removed" button that would be fine. That way it's all manual and there is no risk of deleting back ups on accident.

photo
1

As it stands right now, backups are not removed from the system on account termination, however the way that backups are stored in the new system (by date, rather than by backup type) means that they won't be retained longer than your configured backup retention schedule. The best way to achieve this prior to our implementation of this request is by using the Standardized Hook system.

photo
1

It would be safer to to manually remove the backups older than a certain time with the option to choose which ones. Automating it might delete backups that were forgot about. This is how the back up cleaner script worked before the new backup system blocked it's use.

It worked perfectly.4daa145150b2f915ce3416b4451cb9ff

photo
2

The feature to retain backups forever that I had joined got merged with this one which sounds just like the opposite, although I do see some discussion of a selection of retention of deleted account backups.

In my case I want to retain backups of deleted accounts forever. Many times after the site is deleted, in days, in weeks, in months... the customer comes backup because we have the backup and can restore the site fully.

For this reason, for this policy we have we have sticked with the legacy backup.

At times yes, we move the last backup of deleted accounts to /backup/cpbackup/dailygolden and get rid of backups of deleted accounts in the weekly and monthly paths.

Wonderful thread. Wonderful work. Thanks all for your help!

photo
1

@eurorocco -- we do the exact same thing. Still using Legacy Backup for the same reason (long term backup retention). We manually move daily backups from old customers to a separate directory, occasionally. The system works well, and we see little benefit to using the new backup system at this time.

photo
1

Can we get an update on this, it's been a long time and there is a lot of requests for this.

Just a button to allow us to remove terminated account backups would be perfect and fairly simple to code in.

Thanks!

Charley

photo
1

There's no update at this time, but if there is one I'll be back here with it!